Skip to content

Pop Up Fashion…Mairangi Bay

July 15, 2012

One up side to the recession has the injection of much needed diversity into the retailing industry. Consumers today are spoilt for choice when it comes to their shopping forums. There are groupon discount buys, coupon sales, shopping apps and, in the brick and mortar arena, Pop-Up shops.

Pop-up shops are stores that occupy unleased retail space on a temporary basis. Without the costs of a shop fit-out and lengthy leases, Pop-up shop retailers can set up quickly and enjoy lower overheads. Most inviting for shoppers is when these savings are passed onto their customers!

This morning I checked out the Victoria J Pop-Up shop in Mairangi Bay. They stock only New Zealand designer, New Zealand-made clothing and their clothes are gorgeous! Lovely wrap dresses in bold prints, and merinos in bright colours fill the little shop. Today they were having a sale. (You’ll find them in the Green Gables Arcade.)

I spotted a some lovely pink fabric which I presumed to be a skirt. The attentive woman in the shop, on registering my interest, informed me that the pink fabric was a kit set and that lots of people were getting back into sewing. Nice idea I thought, but I told her I’d better stick to the ready-made!

I found myself caught between two Isla dresses. One was a Kyla dress in a beautiful shade of pink, and the other a chiffon summer tunic dress in orange. The fabric, the form…I kept trying on one and then the other…so nice…so indecisive…but as they were both on sale I decided to leave the store with two new dresses and a big smile ♥ (just in time for Sunday afternoon drinks!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Celina permalink
    July 15, 2012 9:46 am

    Great Blog!

Leave a Reply

